Bookish Recap: February

 

AnnasLibrary_BookishRecap

I’ve seen other bloggers do a monthly recap of what they’ve read and such and I think it’s a brilliant idea. So each month from here on out I’ll do a recap.

By far February was a detour month for me. I read mostly humor books, got 9 books (no more new books for me until May), and read the book of the month for the  #readwomen book club I’m a part of on Goodreads. I’m also taking part in the 2016 Horror Reading Challenge (HRC) with the goal of reading and reviewing 6-10 horror books. But apparently when I get sick I tend to go for humor books. So while I’ve been reading horror books (and hoarding them) I have yet to actually finish and review one for the challenge.

Books read this month:

  • I am Malala (Malala Yousafzai; 4.5 stars)
  • I Funny (James Patterson; 4 stars)
  • Catherine, Called Birdy (Karen Cushman; review live March 3rd)

While I adored I am Malala I think that I needed I Funny the most. Both books are about understanding others despite differences and the things that bring humanity together.

I am Malala is hard to read in parts because it’s real, you can’t put it down and feel better about things by saying it didn’t happen.  After reading about the events she’s been through it’s hard to ignore those things. Despite that, or maybe because of it, I think it’s a must read.

I Funny is great for anyone thanks to the diversity in it. I found it incredibly comforting as someone who’s HoH and was (and sometimes still is) bullied for their disability. The book has a lot of heart and obviously humor, and I’m so glad that kids have books like this. I really wish that I had a book like I Funny when I was a kid and I think it’s a great (and quick) read for children and adults alike.

Catherine, Called Birdy wound up being a disappointment for me despite the strong start.  You can read all the gory details in my review which is  live March 3rd.

All that is well and good but come on, let’s admit it, book hauls are always the best part!

GoodEating1

From top to bottom:

  • Catherine, Called Birdy (Karen Cushman)
  • Ferals (Jacob Grey)
  • Mark of the Dragonfly (Jaleigh Johnson)
  • Cuckoo Song (Frances Hardinge)
  • The Asylum Novellas (Madeline Roux)
  • Catacomb (Madeline Roux)
  • The Dog Master (W. Bruce Cameron)
  • Empty Mansions (Bill Dedman and Paul Clark Newell, Jr.)
  • Batman Character Encyclopedia

Most books I got at the book fair at the school where I volunteer at. Catherine, Called Birdy came from the “Free Books” box in the school office, and the Asylum books as well as Empty Mansions I got from a trip to the bookstore. Empty Mansions was steeply discounted and only seven dollars (as opposed to it’s original thirty), and thanks to Catacomb and The Asylum Novellas, my Asylum series is complete for now.

Like I said, detour month. Which is totally fine, reading is all about enjoyment after all and I read two really great books this month. I’m almost done with Insomnia (Stephen King), and I’m marathon the Asylum series next month, so expect plenty of horror reviews in the future! And a lot of reviews in general. I’m looking really forward to these books.

What about you? Did you read any books this month that you just can’t stop talking about (if so dish, I wanna hear about them!)? Books you hated or felt meh about? Any book hauls? I’m always interested in what others are reading so let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

