Books I’m Dreading (but can’t wait to read)

This is a bit different than what I usually do, but I figured it was a fun thing to do. This is a long and somewhat image heavy post though, so heads up!

Ok, so I know I’m not the only one this happens to. But sometimes I dread reading certain books. They’re books I want to read, but because of all the hype surrounding them, and bitter disappointments from other hyped up books, I have a mild feeling of dread towards them.

I love seeing what others are dreading but wanting to read and sometimes even helping them out by giving them a gentle push in the “read” or “flee” direction. I’d love to hear your take on any of these books!

In absolutely no order:

Throne of Glass

ThroneofGlassCover

Ok so I know the heroine is totally hardcore and there’s this really awesome witch later on in the series, not to mention realistic love situations (the heroine falls in love with more than one person and it’s natural apparently). But I’ve heard such mixed reviews about the latest book. It seems like people either loved it or hated it. The title also reminds me a lot of Game of Thrones. I haven’t read those books but, the similarity is off-putting for me. I like seeing wholly original things.  I can’t help but wonder if this is just gonna wind up being a women centric/less sex filled version of the SoIaF series. Also, more on the personal side, I read the first few pages to take a peek and the writing didn’t blow me away. I was told to read the first two books before saying if the series works for me or not, so I’m going to but….I keep putting it off.

Game of Thrones

GameofThronesCover.jpeg

Speaking of A Song of Ice and Fire….I love big books. The bigger the better and the more right it feels for me. I love high fantasy. I especially love my political driven high fantasy. This series seems to have it all. And there’s dragons! Buuuut the show has put me off of it a bit. There’s apparently a lot of sex and rape. I’m not cool with that. Sex is fine, I’m ok with it when it’s well done and it’s not done for shock value, but from what I’ve heard while there’s less sex in the books, it’s still more for shock value. It’s certainly that way in the show. Also while the show has a lot of really hardcore ladies, I’m not sure how much of that is actually in the books. I’m hoping it’s in there and inspired that in the show, but there’s no telling. Besides, I already know how the series ends. Everyone dies. Right? I mean that is how it’s going to end right? Everyone dies and the throne just sits there empty and laughs. At this point, that seems to kind of be the thing of the show and books. Kill of the favorites for shock value and a bit of plot, and that just becomes less shocking the more it’s done. I want to read this book/series so badly but I also really don’t want to be disappointed. And it just looks like it’s loaded with disappointments.

The Winner’s Curse

WinnersCurseCover

I’ve had some booklr friends swear by this series. They say that it’s perfect for fantasy lovers, especially those who like a twist of romance and need that political element. So pretty much it’s the perfect book for me. But it seems pretty romance heavy, not to mention that some have said that it romanticizes slavery. Also if I like it the only way I’ll get matching covers is to buy all the books in hardback (ugh, honestly publishers what were you thinking?). I think this is one of those books I’m going to have to try. It sounds like it might be another Twilight for me. I can call out how problematic it is, and still enjoy it.

Falling Kingdoms

FallingKingdomsCover

All I know is that it’s got magic, politics, and the cover reminds me of the Shannara series. From the summary I both desperately want to read it , yet am immediately setting myself up for a 3 star read. In the summary alone it sounds like the author is playing into troupes, and makes me feel like I’ve gotta get out my dice for a D&D game. That cover is stunning though and high fantasy is always good. But I’m looking for books that will blow me away, and while I’ve heard some awesome stuff about it, I’m still on the fence. Therefore procrastination!

Legend

LegendBookCover

I don’t do dystopia. Divergent was such a bummer for me and I felt like The Hunger Games series had a huge dose of Second Book Syndrome. Dystopian books tend to disappoint me. I do politics though and this book promises to have that, as well as a touch of naturally developed romance. It also seems to have a really cool computer concept and hackers yo! It’s also a part of a completed series, so I don’t have to worry about waiting for the next book if I wind up loving it. But it’s dystopian, and it sounds a bit like The Hunger Games. I flipped through it to get a feel for the writing, and it switches between two characters both in first person. That’s really hard to pull off and it takes a heck of a writer to do it. I’m not sure if this book will cut it for me but it’s kind of a genre modern classic at this point in a way. I want to give it a try for sure. I just don’t want that try to be a legendary disappointment. (see? Look at that horrible pun! look at it! I love puns y’all).

This is only a handful of books that I both am looking forward to reading and dreading. I’ll do another batch of them sometime in the future. In the mean time, have you read any of these books? Feel free to give me a kick in the pants to get on with it if you have! On the other hand, are any of these books a part of your TBR (To Be Read) pile? Feeling any excitement or dread over any particular ones?

One thought on “Books I’m Dreading (but can’t wait to read)

  1. Hey, I hope I can ease your trepidation about reading the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I think the show does a commendable job, but the books provide much more depth and insight. And there are some pretty amazing women (and men) in the books that were cut from the show, for various reasons.

    One extremely powerful woman, for some reason.

    Will everybody die? No way. There’s over a thousand named characters in the books, and he can’t kill them all. Unless a meteor slams into Westeros and the entire landmass sinks, creating a wave that also takes out Essos.

    Hmmm. I might enjoy reading that too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

