Book Review: Twilight

|Trigger Warning: Stalking, torture|

“Stupid, shiny Volvo owner.” ~Bella Swan (Twilight)

Twilight_Cover

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author: Stephanie Meyer

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Summary:

About three things I was absolutely positive.
First, Edward was a vampire.
Second, there was a part of him—and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be—that thirsted for my blood.
And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.”

In the first book of the Twilight Saga, internationally bestselling author Stephenie Meyer introduces Bella Swan and Edward Cullen, a pair of star-crossed lovers whose forbidden relationship ripens against the backdrop of small-town suspicion and a mysterious coven of vampires. This is a love story with bite.

My Opinion: Look y’all, tomorrow is my birthday, it’s my blog, I love this book, and I just finished reading it for the sixth time (yeah, even I’m shocked) so I’m going to review it. But Twilight is a special book and it deserves a special rating. So I’m giving it two. One based on my enjoyment and what it’s done for me and a second based on how I normally rate books. So 5 and 3 stars. Let’s start with the 5 star part.

Twilight was one of the books that made me realize it was ok to be a girl and to be proud of it. It was also one of the books that got me into first person narration (the other being The Princess Diaries). Before then I would near refuse to read a book if it was written in first person. It quickly became a go to book for me when I felt sick or down. The melodrama is something I adored, and Bella was someone I could relate to. Shy, klutzy, and frequently way in over her head. Alice also stole my heart as did Jasper. Also sometimes the writing was downright poetic and I adored that. The pacing of the book is also great. All in all I keep finding myself coming back to Forks over and over again, each time discovering a new secret.

On the other hand Twilight is pretty problematic. First off Bella falls into an abusive relationship which is romanticized.  If it was called for what it was that’s one thing, but it’s not. Edward stalks her and constantly says he’s dangerous for her, yet while he says “I can leave” he never does-even when he knows it would keep her safe. That doesn’t sound or look like love.

Then there’s the whole Bella constantly lying to her greatest ally in Forks-Charlie. And the thing was, we’re shown that Charlie is a reasonable person. He would have been mostly fine with Bella’s interest in Edward if she had been upfront about it. Again, this is shown to be a romantic thing for young girls to do. You can see the issue here. On the one hand, that makes the book more layered as you can read it as a tragedy-an independent yet quiet young woman falls into an abusive relationship and unwittingly isolates herself. That’s very true to life. But that’s not how the story is marketed and that’s not how so many teenage girls take/took it either.

And then there’s that funky writing style. As I said earlier, sometimes this book is outright poetic and I love it. And then other times I find myself chuckling cause honestly…no teenager talks like that. Seriously, no one talks like that. Bella at first sounds like any normal teen and then she’s…you know what? I don’t even know. But she does it! Anyway, three stars for the problematic issues, and the funky writing style.

I by no means have a love hate relationship with this book. I adore it, but I also realize that it’s pretty problematic and I don’t feel like I can properly recommend the book if I don’t bring those elements up.

TL;DR: Twilight is one of my all time favorite books which I’ve read a total of 6 times. The next time I get horribly sick I will probably read it again. It is like my secret stash of chocolate. I adore the lyrical writing style, the characters and the melodrama. But this book also has some serious issues (such as romanticizing an abusive relationship). If you love melodrama, suspense and are looking for a fun and cozy read, Twilight is your best bet. But if you’re more prone to look at fictional books for dating advice or feel uncomfortable with abusive relationships in books (especially when they’re romanticized) then pass on this one.

For the record I am 100% #TeamJacob and Twilight trash. In case you couldn’t tell (also you should totally tell me any Twilight joke you’ve got, I adore Twilight jokes).

Leave a Reply

