5 Books to Get You in the Mood for School

Nerd alert! I freaking love school. I love learning and making full use of the campus library. I love seeing the geese at the pond and taking a stroll down the lane that’s lined with special plants from around the state. I love finding places to camp out and read a book before class starts and am always amazed that I manage to find new places after so long. But even I have off days and need a little help getting into the “back to school” mood. Here are five books that without fail get me in the mood for school:

HarryPotter_Covers

1. Harry Potter: Ok so it’s actually seven books, but just go with me here. I’m sure if everyone had to make a list like this, most people would put at least one Harry Potter book it. Personally, my favorites are books one and two. There’s just something about going back to school with Harry and friends. And say what you want about Dumbledore, but he’s not the only problematic person in the book, and he does have some genuine good in him. And I think that’s the beauty of it. Good people have dark sides, and bad people have good sides, and all sorts of people can find positions of power. It’s a challenge all of us face as students. For me, that element being in there is very comforting. I know I’m not the only one who’s had their run ins with teachers or the like who abused their power. The Harry Potter series shows that learning has its own kind of magic and that even the strangest and unexpected of challenges, in or out of the classroom, can be fixed with a trip to the library and a bit of daring, hard work, ambition, and creativity.

Private_Cover

2. Private: I’ll try to contain myself here but I’ve found that the Private series is underrated and few people know about it (seriously if you’ve read any of it, come talk to me about it!). But I love it and find it inspiring. Reed Brennan is tough. She has a horrible home life and yet she’s determined to reach her dreams through education-even though not all of her family is supportive of this. I think that’s such a powerful message especially with how things are going with the education system in America. When Reed lands herself a scholarship she works her tail off to keep it and the series does an excellent job of showing the challenges that scholarship students face. This 13 book series is mostly focused on the politics of schools. While there’s plenty of moments where I find myself going “Oh man, I can so relate to that,” in regards to Reed’s classes, there’s plenty of stuff I can also relate to when it comes to student/teacher and student/student interactions. Not to mention the whole morals of “do what it takes to stay on top.” It’s just a well done series in my take. While I still have to get my hands on books 9-13, from the first 8 books I know it makes the grade.

Twilight_Cover

3. Twilight: Something about the ambiance of Forks helps me get into the mood for school. It might be because I read the book for the first time in my senior year of high school and that year was one of my best. Also, as someone who’s been the new girl plenty of times it’s comforting to have a heroine that’s also the new one. I could relate to Bella a lot back in the day. Sure, there’s not much focus on school once Bella and Edward click, but the melodrama gives me life.  If I get too uptight about things, Twilight helps me take a step back, relax, and enjoy school on my off days.

TheMartianCover

4. The Martian: Surprise! Look who showed up…again (seriously this is the third time this book has showed up on a list of mine-not even going to pretend to be sorry). I actually plan on re-reading this book soon because of the nerdery. This book makes the list because I learned so much while reading it. Not only that, it’s a super motivational book for me. It motivates me to stay strong in challenges and to keep learning. As much as I love learning, sometimes I get a professor that just doesn’t suit my learning style and can make the whole process a drag. It’s a great reminder that learning can be fun and really bloody useful.

Angelology_Cover

5. Angelology: Ok, ok hold up here. Back up. I have never actually finished this book. So how did it make it onto the list? Long story short, I kept picking up this book in the book store and reading the back and then looking at the cover and going “naked guy ok…how about no?” and putting it back. Then finally after like the fourth time (and again reading some of the writing) I decided to get it. And so for the past three years I have been trying to read this book at the start of school. And every time I have gotten sick or something major has come up and I stopped reading it. And almost every time at the exact same place. It’s like fate. So this book reminds me of school because I am just too stubborn to not try to finish it and I always try reading it during the school year. I will win. I will finish this book. Just like I will finish my classes come hell or high water.

Hopefully at least one of these books will help get you in the mood for school (or at least over the summer blues) if you’re dreading it. And if you’re as hyped as I am for it, hopefully these books will help encourage that energy. And those of you that aren’t in school anymore and just chilling…well hey, at least you have book recommendations right? I’d love to hear your take on any of these books or any of your book recs! I’m a huge fan of boarding school, and school related books so if you know of any, toss them my way!

Leave a Reply

