Bookish Recap (September)

 

AnnasLibrary_BookishRecap

This month was a great month reading wise! I got to team up with Xpresso Book Tours and help out with two book tours by reviewing the books and that was quite fun. I got my hands on Nevernight and devoured it and got my romance in Sun and Moon. I feel like this month made up for the past couple where I’ve been in reading slumps.

I’ve also made a couple of changes around the blog. From here on out in the Bookish Recap, books will be listed in alphabetical order by author (it used to be random). I’ve also gone through and updated my Past Reviews page and added the star rating for each book. I’m considering adding a new page for my 4 and 5 star reads so that those are easier to find and you don’t have to hunt for them.

Nine Candles of Deepest Black (Matthew S. Cox; 4 stars)

The Shattered Seam (Kathleen Groger; 3 stars)

Nevernight (Jay Kristoff; 4.5 stars)

Sun and Moon (Desiree Williams; 3 stars)

I think by far this month my favorite book was Nevernight. I had seen it around and in the bookstores. I was in love with the cover and the idea was certainly interesting. But I wasn’t sure if splurging on a book that I might not like would be worth it or not. It was worth every single penny and I am so proud of the life choices that brought me to that moment. Ok, ok, melodrama aside, it was a really awesome book that was 100% what I was looking for. It wasn’t what I thought it would be, but the whole book is about defying expectations in a way, so it fits that the book would defy expectations as well.

Overall, the books I read this month all surprised me. They took old tropes and made them new, or had fresh writing styles, or were beautifully heartfelt stories. I might not have given every book 5 stars, but these books were all well worth the reads and I’m glad I had the chance to read so much this month.

Leave a Reply

