TBR Pile: Airport Edition

I haven’t had much time for reading this month. Why? Because for the first time ever I’m getting on an airplane and headed to the West Coast. It’s my first time on a plane and so I’m both excited and a little nervous.

Cure for nervousness and a 6 hour flight (and the 5 hour flight back)? Books of course! I downloaded what felt like a ton of books, but here are the ones I’m putting at the top of my reading list. All links lead to Goodreads if you want more details.

Shiloh (Helena Sorensen)

Shiloh_bookCover

I had read this book a while back and adored it. I’m looking forward to re-reading it, although my review of the book is already on Goodreads. It’s a YA fantasy with elements of The Giver in it. It takes place in a beautifully crafted world overtaken by the Shadow, a darkness that has not only pushed the world into a physical darkness, but the creatures as well. First in a trilogy, Shiloh follows the story of Amos and his friend Simeon and their struggle against the Shadow as well as the fears and expectations of their town.

 

The Tale of the Vampire Bride (Rhiannon Frater)

TaleVampireBride_Cover

I have been wanting to read this book for the longest time. Vampires and historical fiction are my vice when it comes to books, and I am so excited to finally read this. The story is a New Adult novel about a young woman who marries Dracula via an arranged marriage. I’ve heard that it’s incredibly dark with lovely elements of gothic horror which is exactly what I’ve been looking for.

 

The Emperor’s Edge (Lindsay Buroker)

TheEmperorsEdge_Cover

A trusted friend recommended this book to me, and honestly this person has never steered me wrong when it comes to books. I’m a sucker for high fantasy, and when you tell me that there’s a diverse steampunk book out there about a law enforcer who gets in over her head, you’ve sold me.

 

Leave a Reply

