TBR List: Publisher Style

So I’m not sure how many other people do this, but there are some publishers that I pay a lot of attention to. Firebird is an excellent example and a number of my favorite books have been published by Firebird. When I see a book on a shelf with the Firebird logo, I pick it up. I might not always read it, but there’s a much higher chance I will. This has actually helped me discover new authors, so this strange reading strategy has its perks!

When I was in middle and high school I used to read a lot of books published by DAW. In fact, almost all the books I read were either published by DAW or by Firebird. I haven’t really read a lot of books from any one particular publisher as of late…until I took a look at my Goodreads TBR list. The majority of books that I had recently added were from DAW.

So here’s a list of books that I’m looking forward to diving into that just so happen to come from the same publishing house.

SerpentsShadow_Cover

The Serpent’s Shadow (Mercedes Lackey)

A retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves by one of my favorite authors. Sign me up! While it’s not my favorite fairy-tale, I am a sucker for any fairy-tale retelling. Lackey blew me away with The Fire Rose, so I’m looking forward to seeing what new things are added to the original.

GreenRider_Cover

Green Rider (Kristen Britain)

While coming home from school after a fight she’ll most likely get expelled for, Karigan meets a man who is shot through with arrows. He has a “life or death” letter for the king and luckily for the dying messenger, Karigan is in the wrong place at the wrong time. Roped into delivering a message she doesn’t know the contents of, Karigain can only trust her horse. Add assassins to the mix and you have a really promising fantasy book! This is the start to a series that I’ve been wanting to read for ages. Hopefully it’ll live up to my expectations.

Birthgrave_Cover

The Birthgrave (Tanith Lee)

I honestly have no idea why I haven’t read anything by Lee and considering what a power house she was in the sci-fi/fantasy sector I really have no excuses. But this book has such mysterious undertones. A woman wakes up in the heart of dormant volcano unaware of who or what she is. As she travels through the brutal world she fights to discover who she is as well as find the mysterious Jade…and avoid an evil god who can’t leave her alone. It’s the start of a series too so hopefully this will be a new favorite of mine and I’ll have a new series to dig into.

BrokenCrown_Cover

The Broken Crown (Michelle West)

So this series leads into a second series and strangely enough I stumbled upon the second series first. But I’ve learned that reading books in order is important, and why read one series when you can read two? This book promises magic and political intrigue which I am totally here for.

No doubt about it, looking at the publisher is a rather atypical way of finding books, but it can bring about surprising results. Are you a fan of any particular publisher or is that the last thing you notice?

One thought on “TBR List: Publisher Style

  1. Mercedes Lackey is one of my favorite authors 🙂 Also, Green Rider was pretty good. I’ve actually started paying more attention to publishers too. I believe DAW and ROC are ones I gravitate too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

